Baking History

A Taste For The Past

Excellent Blogs

Posted by bakinghistory on February 26, 2008

excellentblog.jpg

I was delighted and honored to find out that Susan of Wild Yeast included Baking History in her selection of five blogs she considers worthy of receiving the “E for Excellent” Award. Susan, baker extraordinaire, is a source of inspiration for me—I visit her blog daily and never cease to be amazed at her wonderful skills and passion for the joyful art of bread baking. Thus receiving the award from her made it even more special.

Thank you Susan!!!

Recipients, in turn, are entitled to choose five other bloggers they wish to recognize for their inspiring work. It is tough to restrict my choices to only five—all of those listed in my blogroll are favorites. However, among all of them here I wish to mention:

Marye of Apron Strings and Simmering Things: I enjoy reading her posts, not just for the scrumptious dishes but for her sense of humor, enthusiasm and spirit

Nils of Ye Olde Bread Blogge for his wonderful breads and informative tips about techniques

Simona of Briciole for writing a great dictionary of Italian words, interspersed with recipes and memories. She does a truly wonderful job explaining with detail and skill the beauties and intricacies of the Italian language

Robert of TimeFiction— The Time Travel Logs for writing about one of my favorite themes in the area of sci-fi: time travel. The blog is new but the writings that are there so far (The New England Series) are really great.

Ex aequo (so I can mention them both) Louise of Months of Edible Celebrations and T.W. of Culinary Types. Louise’s blog is a gold mine of information about food history and food-related inventions. T.W.’s blog is full of retro recipes and beautifully written stories that provide the perfect context for each dish.

 

Thank you all for your beautiful blogs.

 

 

12 Responses to “Excellent Blogs”

  1. theinversecook said

    Thank you, I feel flattered. Do keep up the good work yourself hunting down old and forgotten recipes from the days of old, creating something new interesting.

  2. bakinghistory said

    @ Nils: Thank you Nils :-)

  3. Simona said

    I am so honored by your kind words and the award: thank you so much!

  4. bakinghistory said

    @ Simona: I love your blog! :-)

  5. marye said

    WOW! I LOVE IT thank you so much! You made my DAY!

  6. bakinghistory said

    @ Marye: :-)

  7. Many thanks, Manuela! And I was planning to nominate you for the same award! I can’t wait to see what you’ll recreate next!

  8. bakinghistory said

    @ T.W.: Thank you! I also visit your blog every day with anticipation, looking forward to your great recipes and stories :-)

  9. Louise said

    Dear Manuela,
    I am so touched by your honor, I can’t begin to express how much it means to me. Thank you so very much. I look forward to visiting “you” each morning coffee in hand:)

  10. bakinghistory said

    Thank you Louise :-)

  11. marye said

    Giving you an award today..LOL!

  12. bakinghistory said

    @ marye: thank you so much!! It really means a lot to me. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

