Baking History

A Taste For The Past

Potato Pie

Posted by bakinghistory on September 30, 2008

A tasty savory pie filled with potatoes and onions, milk and a touch of butter.

Ivy of Kopiaste is the host of a blog event all about savory pies. My contribution is a simple one, made with a buttery crust filled with shredded potatoes, onions, milk and butter. The filling is assembled in the pie crust with raw ingredients, which makes the preparation easy and quick. Furthermore, it does not contain any eggs. The result is a truly wonderful pie, with a perfectly flaky crust enclosing a tender, buttery filling, which is best enjoyed warm. Something worth trying for a simple dinner on a cold winter night.

-

ROUNDUP IS HERE

-

-

-

-

-

-

From the original recipes by  Jane Cunningham Croly

In: Jennie June’s American Cookery Book”, 1878—USA

and Juniata L. Shepperd

In: “Handbook of Household Science”, 1902—USA

Ingredients:

Filling:

4-5 large potatoes

1 small onion

1 tbsp butter

1/4 to1/3 cup cup whole milk (or half-and-half)

1/2 tsp kosher salt

Crust

1-1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup (scant) butter

1/4 tsp salt

ice water as needed

Preheat the oven to 375F (190C).

Make the Crust: In a food processor put flour salt and butter (diced), and pulse until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. With the machine running add enough water for the dough to come together. Do not overprocess. Wrap the dough in wax paper and let rest in a cool place for about 30 minutes. Roll the dough to about 1/8-inch thickness and line a deep pie dish, letting the extra pastry hang over the sides of the pan.

Filling: peel, wash and dry the potatoes. Shred them finely, mix them with the shredded onion and salt.  Put the mixture into the pie plate lined with pastry, then pour over enough milk (or half-and-half) to barely cover the filling. Distribute the butter in small pieces all over the filling, fold over the pastry so that the filling is partially covered. Bake for about 1 hour. Serve warm.

This pie does not freeze well, either baked or raw, because the potatoes turn mushy.


10 Responses to “Potato Pie”

  1. roo said

    This looks delicious!!!

  2. Ivy said

    Hi Manuela, Thanks for contributing to the Savory Pies event. I am glad that through this event I get to meet some more people around the world through our mutual love for food. You have a lovely blog which I shall make sure to visit often. Your pie may be simple but many times the simplest are the best.

  3. Louise said

    Hi Manuela,
    I’m grabbing this link to add to Jane’s page. This pie is a feast to the eyes. It almost seems like one giant potato pancake which, I absolutely LOVE. And oh my my how simple. I’m glad you mentioned that it doesn’t freeze well (darn). I was already thinking about making mini pies to keep in the freezer. GREAT post. Thanks so much…

  4. Aparna said

    Potatoes in side and a crisp crust outside is a wonderful combination, I think. How many would this recipe serve?

  5. roo said

    Omgosh, me and my 7 year old son have this in the oven right now. It smells SOOO good!! Mine doesn’t look half as pretty as yours and I quickly discovered I’m no fan of grating potatoes! But I am sure it will be worth it! Thank you!!! :)

  6. bakinghistory said

    @ Roo: Thank you so much. I hope you and your son liked it :-)

    @ Ivy: Thanks for hosting, I am so glad I was able to participate, even if at the very last minute. I also liked your blog very much, and I am happy to have found it :-)

    @ Louise: Thanks! The filling does remind in fact of potato pancakes, crispy on the outside and creamy inside. Even if the assembled pie cannot be frozen the pastry can be made in advance and kept in the freezer :-)

    @ Aparna: Really worth trying, I think. This pie was not very thick and was enough for three people. My husband liked it with ketchup :-)

  7. Ivy said

    Hi Manuela, thanks for placing a link to the event. I just wanted to tell you that I added you to my google reader and blogroll as you have a very lovely blog that I would like to read.

  8. bakinghistory said

    @ Ivy: Thank you! I did add Kopiaste to my Feeds list :-)

  9. roo said

    Yes! We LOVED it! It was so good! Kinda reminded me of pot pie!

  10. bakinghistory said

    @ Roo: Thank you–I am happy you liked! :-)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

