Baking History

A Taste For The Past

Chocolate Cake with Fudge Frosting

Posted by bakinghistory on July 23, 2007

chocolatecake1.jpg

A moist, tender cake with a luscious chocolate fudge frosting

From the original recipes by:

Maria Parloa in “Chocolate and Cocoa Recipes” 1909–USA

Maria Willett Howard in “Lowney’s Cook Book” 1912–USA

Ingredients

For the Cake

1 cup (227 g) butter

2 cups (400 g) sugar

2 oz. (60 g) unsweetened chocolate, melted

4 eggs

1 cup (237 ml) milk

3 cups (375 g) flour

2 tsp (9 g) baking powder

1 pinch salt

2 tsp (10 ml) pure vanilla extract (or vanilla paste)

For the Fudge Frosting

4 tbsp (60 g) butter

4 squares (4 oz.–112 g) unsweetened chocolate

2 cups (400 g) sugar

2/3 cup (160 ml) milk

2 tsp (10 ml) pure vanilla extract (or vanilla paste)

For the White Icing

2 tbsp (15 g ) confectioners’ sugar + 2 tsp (10 ml) hot water

Make the cake:
Preheat the oven at 350° F (180° C), grease 3 round 8-inch (20 cm) cake pans, then line the bottom of each pan with a round of parchment paper. Beat butter to a cream and add sugar gradually, then add the melted chocolate and mix well. The mixture should be creamy and light in color. Add the unbeaten eggs and mix well. The mixture might look curdled. Sift the flour with the baking powder and salt, than gradually add the flour to the butter mixture, alternating with the milk, and letting the flour fall through a fine sieve into the butter mixture and beating until incorporated. The final mixture should look creamy and smooth again, and very light. Pour the batter into the prepared pans and bake for about 35 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let the cakes cool in the pans, placed on racks, for about 10 minutes, then take the cakes out of the pans, peeling off parchment from the bottom, and let them finish cooling on racks.

Make the Fudge Frosting:
Scald the milk, then pour it over the chocolate and stir until melted. Add the sugar, mix well, then cook for 6 minutes. Add the butter and cook for 6 minutes more. Take off the heat and stir in the vanilla. Beat the mixture until thick enough to spread.

Make the white icing, mixing confectioners’ sugar and hot water to make it rather thin.

Assemble the cake:

Spread one of the cakes with a layer of fudge frosting, then cover with a second cake layer and spread again with frosting. Place the third cake on top and cover both top and sides with fudge frosting. Immediately drizzle the white icing in a decorative pattern on the top and sides of the cake. The frosting will stay glossy and shiny. Refrigerate the cake in a container with a lid that does not come directly in contact with the cake top.

17 Responses to “Chocolate Cake with Fudge Frosting”

  1. marye said

    that looks wonderful! I LOVE chocolate.
    Welcome to the blogroll.

  2. bakinghistory said

    Hi Marye. Thanks! 🙂

  3. Minik Kus said

    Wow, now this looks awesome! I just see your blog in the foodie blogroll, I’m glad I see it. Everything seems delicious.

  4. […] Posts World Bread Day ’07: Parker House RollsChocolate Cake with Fudge FrostingMini Custard Pies (Mini Pie Revolution)Semolina Cake (Torta di semolino)BBD #04 RoundupCocoa […]

  5. Julia said

    This cake looks truely delicious.

  6. bakinghistory said

    @ Julia: Thanks! And thanks for stopping by! This is indeed a great cake, and definitely the most popular of all the recipes I have posted so far 🙂

  7. Ee-Reh said

    Great cake – made it tonight. But I had to improvise a bit with when to add the milk in the cake…? I added it after the eggs. Anyway – it tastes amazing. Thank you!! =)

  8. bakinghistory said

    @ Ee-Reh: Thanks! I am glad you liked it, it is indeed our favorite too :-). You are right abut the milk–I did not realize I had forgotten to mention when to add it to the batter.

  9. Miky said

    Thanks u rok!!!!!!

  10. Anonymous said

    it looks delicious

  11. […] What is your favourite dessert ? – Chocolate cake. Who counts calories when there’s chocolate cake ? source image […]

  12. renebake said

    mmmm yummy makin it tomight!!

  13. ram said

    Hi,

    Cake looks yummy.i have one doubt.do the fudge should be cooled completely to beat into thick frosting?

  14. bakinghistory said

    @ Ram: Hi! Yes, the fudge should be left to cool only 2-3 minutes after taking it form the heat and then beat until completely cooled and spreadable.

  15. amanda said

    I thought the cake looks great so I took on the task of baking it for a friends birthday cake. I wish I hadn’t, I too got stuck on the milk part, I put the mixture in the tins without adding milk, then had to start again. It all look great as I was preparing it, but I sure did something wrong! The fudge was pretty runny, but that was the last of my troubles. Did I use the wrong flour? Maybe, I used gold all purpose! The cakes looked and felt like cookies, but harder! I tried to pass it off as a cookie cake, people were sweet at the party and the birthday boy grasiously tucked in for the photos but it was far from moist, far from a cake really! I feel I should have used a cheap cake mix instead! I just don’t have the touch! But good luck to anyone else who tries, It really should have been an awesome cake! ;(

  16. well its awesome cake i loved it and when i baked everyone adore me…wow its superb wow……

  17. bakinghistory said

    @ Amanda: I am sorry, I have corrected the recipe in fact.

    @ Madiha: Thanks!

Leave a comment